News and Announcements

OHIO recognizes three faculty members with excellence in teaching awards

Three OHIO faculty members are being celebrated for their excellent teaching and academic pursuits, both inside and outside of the classroom, with prestigious University awards. 

Professor of Geography Dr. Geoff Buckley and Professor and Chair of English Dr. Linda Rice have been named the Presidential Teacher Award recipients for 2020-2023. Associate Professor of Instruction of Chemistry Dr. Rebecca Barlag was also awarded the Provost Award for Excellence in Teaching for 2020-2023. 

All three professors are from the College of Arts and Sciences. Award recipients are selected to hold the title of Presidential Teacher or the Provost Awardee for Excellence in Teaching for three years. 

“These awards recognize the commitment and dedication of outstanding faculty who, by example, demonstrate leadership among their peers,” Executive Vice President and Provost Elizabeth Sayrs said. “Dr. Barlag, Dr. Buckley, and Dr. Rice are exemplary teachers and consistently demonstrate personal and professional commitment to student success. I am also grateful to the selection committee for their time and consideration throughout the review process.”

The selections for both awards involved a portfolio review, classroom visitations and personal interviews of the finalists.

Finalists for the Presidential Teacher Award included Professor of Marketing Adam Rapp, Buckley and Rice. 

Assistant Professor of Instruction Andrew Pueschel (Management), Professor of Instruction Susan Tice-Alicke (Psychology) and Barlag were the finalists for the Provost Award for Excellence in Teaching. 

Members of the Presidential Teacher Award selection committee included: 

  • Associate Professor Jennifer Chabot (Social and Public Health)
  • Associate Professor T. J. Cyders (Mechanical Engineering)
  • Associate Professor Craig Davis (Journalism)
  • Associate Professor Tresa Randall (Dance)
  • Associate Professor Mary Rogus (Journalism)
  • Associate Professor Ana Rosado-Feger (Management)
  • Graduate Student Rebecca Keogh (Biological Studies)
  • Undergraduate Student Adelina Miller (College of Education)

Members of the Provost Award for Excellence in Teaching selection committee included:   

  • Professor of Instruction Cindy Hartman (Educational Studies)
  • Professor of Instruction Nelson Hippolyte Ortega (Modern Languages)
  • Associate Professor of Instruction Sean Parsons (Music)
  • Graduate Student Natascha Roelsgaard (Journalism)
  • Undergraduate Student Jessica Frey (Biological Sciences)
May 18, 2020
Staff reports